My Dear John to Comic Book Movies


Dear Comic Book Movies,

We had a great run.  You’ve been good to me.  I’ve supported you.  Now it’s time to move on.

Our time together began with the ridiculous Joel Schumacher Batman movies.  I watched you take the next step when SpiderMan debuted in 2002.  I watched you evolve in Batman Begins and The Dark Knight.  I let things slide with The Punisher and Daredevil.  I even appreciated SpiderMan 3, knowing that the sequel would make up for it…

Then you got out of hand.  Your desire for younger eyes prevented John Malkovich from becoming Vulture, causing Sam Raimi to walk out on the franchise entirely.  After you watched Twilight, you developed angst and went back to a high school SpiderMan.

I don’t see a future between us.  Sure, AntMan looks enticing.  The Dark Knight Rises will be great.  After that, what’s left?.  Captain America could be cool.  Thor looks like it will be entertaining, Iron Man 3 lost its director.  The Green Lantern looks awful.  Apparently the script for The Flash is gritty, but what is so dark about a guy who can run really fast?

So, Comic Book Movies, I appreciate the time we had together, but I don’t like where things are going.  Good luck, and don’t screw up The Avengers.

Leave a Reply

