From “Glee”ful to Dreadful


Yea, "L" for Losers... and Lame

I think I’m going to convince the moderators of this blog to let me start a “What the &!$#” column each week. Of course this is an unofficial announcement, but consider this post on “Glee” my first entry.

First, I should admit that I, Alexandra, was a “gleek” during the first season. The plot was kind of stellar, pregnant cheerleader and all, the music was kind of catchy (I did my own rendition of the show’s version of “Somebody to Love” in my bedroom, ahem), and I actually grew to like a few of the characters – specifically Puck and Quinn. I never liked Rachel. Just wanted to throw that out there.

Fast forward to this season. What. The. Fuck?! I stopped watching after the Britney Spears ( – bows – ) episode because it was all sorts of whack. That annoying one Rachel decided to drop about 15 pounds from her frame, which somehow made her more annoying, and I couldn’t really sit through an episode. There wasn’t a plot and they introduced new characters that lasted only one episode. Uh, BORING.

Part of me believes that my feelings toward this show did a 180 because of all the hype. BUT, but… sorry folks, the show now sucks. What was once a show with substance and heart has now become The Kurt Show surrounding his gay life (I don’t mean that in a derogatory way, Kurt is in fact gay… so suck it. Wait, er…).

But anyway, here’s the breakdown of why I think “Glee” has gone downhill:

  • Ryan Murphy – the creator and writer of “Glee.” This fucker… let me tell you. He has a bigger mouth than I do and I’m an Italian from New Jersey. He truly believes “Glee” is the greatest thing to grace our television since “Roseanne,” and believes all musicians should be fighting to get their music on his show. I don’t think so! Kings of Leon announced that they wouldn’t give the show the rights to use their songs ( – golf clap – ) and Murphy threw an actual bitch fit. Murphy basically told Kings of Leon to go fuck themselves, and KOL drummer Matthew Followill told Murphy to stop being a little bitch. To read about the actual “feud” that took place on Twitter, click HERE. You won’t be sorry. Priceless fucking stuff. Also, Dave Grohl from Foo Fighters recently came out and said that the viewers wouldn’t be hearing a Foo Fighters song on the show … ever. Allow me to quote Mr. Grohl: “It’s every band’s right, you shouldn’t have to do fucking Glee. And then the guy who created Glee is so offended that we’re not, like, begging to be on his fucking show … fuck that guy for thinking anybody and everybody should want to do Glee.” Well said, well said. Here’s the full article.
  • The gay storyline. OKAY LISTEN. BEFORE YOU ALL GET YOUR PANTIES/BOXERS IN A BUNCH, HEAR ME OUT. I fully support same-sex marriage. I have absolutely nothing against people who are gay. In the first season, the storyline revolving around Kurt and him coming out to his dad was done beautifully. But now, I feel as though it’s being thrown in our face. The show has become a little too preachy for my taste. Kurt’s gay, we get it. Let’s move on.
  • Rachel Berry (played by Lea Michele). Both annoying. Girlfriend, you’re not on Broadway anymore, you can stop the over-exaggerated facial expressions while your singing – there’s no 4th tier mezzanine.
  • THERE’S NO PLOT. Like… none. Kurt joined that other all male choir. Him and that other dude played by Darren Criss kissed. Finn and Rachel broke up. But um… that’s about it.
  • The show has resorted to an insane amount of celebrity guest stars to get more viewers. Once in a while is fine, but constantly advertising that Gwyneth Paltrow, Britney Spears, John Stamos, and Anne Hathaway are on/going to be on your show is fucking irritating. How about you focus on the writing instead of an outside factor to make your show more entertaining.
  • For a glee club that gets about zero respect from their peers and teachers, where do they get all of this money for their crazy productions? Yea… that’s what I thought.
  • And lastly, does anyone else think Mr. Schu’s relationship with his glee club students is a tad inappropriate? It’s kind of creepy, especially with him considering to play the role of Rocky in that Rocky Horror episode (don’t get me started) and joining the club in a slightly sexual version of Queen Britney’s “Toxic.”

And that’s my “What the &!$#” of the week. The show blows, get over it. Watch something way more educational and entertaining like The Jersey Shore. At least you’ll learn about the types of people you should be avoiding and not interacting with.

I’m out!

Leave a Reply

